German States coins Hannover Silver Thaler 1872 King George V

German States coins Hannover Silver Thaler
Germany Kingdom of Hanover Silver Thaler
German States coins, Kingdom of Hanover Silver Thaler (Medallic Shooting Thaler - Struck for the 4th German Shooting Festival), King George V, minted 1872.

Obverse: Crowned and seated Germania, holding wreath and sword. Shield of the German Empire and target to her left.
Translated: "4th German, Federal Shooting / Hannover 1872"

Reverse: Celmeted shield with arms of Hannover, supported by lions. All set on a base, terminated by arabesques below.
Translated: "Residence City Hannover"

Mintage: 6,317 pcs.
Engraver: Brehmer
References: Davenport -, KM-, KM-X1. R!
Weight: 16.82 gram of Silver
Diameter: 33 mm

German Coins, German coinage, German silver coinsGerman States Coins, Coins of Germany, German Gold Coins, German commemorative coins, German Imperial Coins, Numismatic Collection, Coins of the German EmpireCoins of Germany best silver coins for investment, silver coinsGerman East Africa coins, old coins, coin collecting, rare coins, world coins, foreign coins, heritage coins, silver ira investment, silver bullion coins, silver coin collection investors, investment coins, antique coins, Unique Silver Coins, collectible coins, Münzen Deutschland, silbermünzen, Münzen aus Deutschland, Münzen Deutsches Kaiserreich.

Kingdom of Hanover
The Kingdom of Hanover (German: Königreich Hannover) was established in October 1814 by the Congress of Vienna, with the restoration of George III to his Hanoverian territories after the Napoleonic era. It succeeded the former Electorate of Brunswick-Lüneburg (known informally as the Electorate of Hanover), and joined with 38 other sovereign states in the German Confederation. The kingdom was ruled by the House of Hanover, a younger branch of the House of Welf, in personal union with the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland until 1837, before being conquered by Prussia in 1866. Briefly revived as the State of Hanover in 1946, the state was subsequently merged with some smaller states to form the current state of Lower Saxony in Germany.

Hanoverian thaler
The Thaler was the currency of the Electorate, later Kingdom of Hanover until 1857. Until 1834, it was equal to three quarters of a Conventionsthaler and was subdivided into 36 Mariengroschen, each of 8 Pfennig.
Between 1807 and 1813, the Westphalian Thaler (equal to the Hannovarian Thaler) and the Westphalian Frank circulated in Hannover.
In 1834, the Thaler was slightly reduced in silver content to make it equal to the Prussian Thaler. The Thaler was replaced at par in 1857 by the Hannovarian Vereinsthaler.

Hanoverian vereinsthaler
The Vereinsthaler was the currency of the Kingdom of Hanover between 1857 and 1866. The Vereinsthaler replaced the prior Thaler at par. The Vereinsthaler was first subdivided into 24 Groschen, each of 12 Pfennig, thus 288 Pfennig = 1 Vereinsthaler. From 1858 on the subdivisions were more decimalised to 30 Groschen, each of 10 Pfennig, thus 300 Pfennig making up a Vereinsthaler.
When in 1866 the Kingdom of Prussia annexed Hanover the Hanoveran currency was replaced by the Prussian Vereinsthaler, subdivided into 30 Silbergroschen, each of 12 Pfennig (thus 360 Pfennig = 1 Pr. Vereinsthaler).