Warren G. Harding 2014 US Presidential One Dollar Coin

Warren G. Harding, 29th President of the United States

Warren G. Harding 2014 US Presidential One Dollar Coin

The Warren G. Harding Presidential Dollar represented the first release of the series for 2014 and the 29th release of the series overall. Following the earlier decision of the Treasury Department, the coins were not released for general circulation, but only available within numismatic products.

Before becoming President Warren G. Harding attended Iberia College and became a newspaper publisher, teacher, and insurance salesman. He served as an Ohio state senator, Ohio lieutenant governor, and United States Senator. He won the election for president with an unprecedented 60% of the popular vote. He served as President for only two years before he passed away.

The obverse of the coin features a portrait designed and engraved by Michael Gaudioso. The required inscriptions include the President’s name, the motto “In God We Trust”, the order of the Presidency “29th”, and the dates served “1921-1923″. The reverse features the depiction of the Statue of Liberty by Don Everhart. The inscriptions include “United States of America” and the denomination “$1″. The date, mint mark, and motto “E Pluribus Unum” are included as incused edge lettering.

On February 6, 2014, the United States Mint began sales for circulating quality examples of the Warren G. Harding Presidential Dollar in numismatic bags, rolls, and boxes. These products were priced at a modest premium to the face value of the coins included. Throughout the year, collectible proof and uncirculated versions of the coin were also incorporated into various numismatic products.

The United States Mint struck 6,160,000 circulating quality coins at the Philadelphia facility and 3,780,000 circulating quality coins at the Denver facility.

Warren G. Harding Presidential Dollar Coin Specifications:
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Weight: 8.1g
Thickness: 2.0 mm
Edge: Lettered
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Mintage: 6,160,000 (Philadelphia), 3,780,000 (Denver)

Presidential $1 Coin — Lady Liberty Reverse Statue of Liberty, 1886

US One Dollar Coin, Lady Liberty - Statue of Liberty
  On October 28, 1886, President Grover Cleveland accepted the Statue of Liberty on behalf of the United States and said, in part, "We will not forget that Liberty has here made her home; nor shall her chosen altar be neglected."
  She is the work of sculptor Frederic Auguste Bartholdi, who enlisted the assistance of engineer Alexandre Gustave Eiffel, designer of the Eiffel Tower, to help him solve some of the structural challenges presented by creating a statue of such magnitude.
  The Statue of Liberty was completed in 1884 and shipped to the United States in June 1885, having been disassembled into 350 individual pieces that were packed in over 200 crates for the transatlantic voyage. In four months’ time, she was re-assembled in New York Harbor, standing just over 151 feet from the top of the statue’s base to the tip of the torch her right hand holds high above the waters of New York Harbor.
  Originally intended as a gift to celebrate the American Centennial in 1876, the Statue of Liberty was given to the United States as a symbol of the friendship forged between the new American government and the government of France during the American Revolutionary War.
  The tablet she holds in her left hand carries the inscription "July IV MDCCLXXVI" in reference to the July 4, 1776, signing of the Declaration of Independence and the birth of the Nation.
  There are 25 windows running the length of Lady Liberty’s crown, which is topped by seven rays, meant to convey both the light of the sun and the seven seas and continents of the world.
  For millions of Americans, the Statue of Liberty was the first sight that their ancestors saw as they arrived in America after having left their homes in search of a better life for themselves and for their families.
  To celebrate her 100th anniversary, the Statue of Liberty was featured on a United States commemorative coin in 1986. In 1997, a close-up image of the Lady Liberty was chosen for the obverse of the new American Eagle platinum coins.

President Warren G. Harding 2014 One Dollar Coin Cover
Warren G. Harding 2014 One Dollar Coin Cover

Presidential $1 Coins
Presidential Dollar Coins feature larger, more dramatic artwork, as well as edge-incused inscriptions meant to revitalize the design of United States coins and return circulating coinage to its position as an object of aesthetic beauty.
The U.S. Mint launched the Presidential $1 Coin Program in 2007. The 10-year initiative includes one dollar coins featuring obverse designs honoring the Presidents in the order in which they served in office.
Read less Image of Presidential $1 Coins
The U.S. Mint produces and issues four Presidential Dollar coins per year, each with a common reverse design featuring a striking rendition of the Statue of Liberty. The program was authorized by the Presidential $1 Dollar Coin Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-145).

2007 Presidential Dollars

2008 Presidential Dollars

2009 Presidential Dollars

2010 Presidential Dollars

Millard Fillmore        Franklin Pierce        James Buchanan        Abraham Lincoln

2011 Presidential Dollars

2012 Presidential Dollars

2013 Presidential Dollars

2014 Presidential Dollars

Warren G. Harding    Calvin Coolidge    Herbert Hoover    Franklin Delano Roosevelt

2015 Presidential Dollars

2016 Presidential Dollars

Warren G. Harding
Warren Gamaliel Harding (November 2, 1865 – August 2, 1923) was the 29th President of the United States, serving from March 4, 1921 until his death. Although Harding died one of the most popular presidents in history, the subsequent exposure of scandals that took place under him, such as Teapot Dome, eroded his popular regard, as did revelations of an affair by Nan Britton, one of his mistresses. In historical rankings of the U.S. presidents, Harding is often rated among the worst.
  Harding was born in Blooming Grove, Ohio. Except when political service took him elsewhere, he lived in rural Ohio all his life. When not yet 20 years old, he settled in Marion and bought The Marion Star, building it into a successful newspaper. In 1899, he was elected to the Ohio State Senate, and after four years there successfully ran for lieutenant governor. He was defeated for governor in 1910, but was elected to the Senate in 1914.
  When Harding ran for the Republican nomination for president in 1920, he was considered an also-ran with little chance of success. The leading candidates, such as General Leonard Wood, could not gain a majority to secure the nomination, and the convention deadlocked. Harding's support gradually grew until he was nominated on the tenth ballot. He conducted a front porch campaign, remaining for the most part in Marion, and allowing the people to come to him. Running on a theme of return to normalcy, he won in a landslide over Democrat James M. Cox and Socialist Party candidate Eugene Debs, becoming the first sitting senator to be elected president.
  Harding appointed a number of well-regarded figures, including Andrew Mellon at the Treasury, Herbert Hoover at Commerce, and Charles Evans Hughes at the State Department. A major foreign policy achievement came with the Washington Naval Conference of 1921–1922, in which the world's major naval powers agreed on a naval limitations program that lasted a decade. Two members of his cabinet, Interior Secretary Albert Fall and Attorney General Harry Daugherty, were implicated in corruption. The resulting scandals did not fully emerge until after Harding's death, nor did word of his extramarital affairs, but both greatly damaged his reputation. Harding died of a cerebral hemorrhage caused by heart disease in San Francisco while on a western speaking tour; he was succeeded by his vice president, Calvin Coolidge.