Thomas Jefferson’s Liberty 2007 10 Dollars First Spouse Gold Coins

US Gold Coins Thomas Jefferson's Liberty First Spouse 10 Dollars Gold CoinUnited States Gold Coins Thomas Jefferson's Liberty First Spouse $10 Dollars Gold Coin

US Gold Coins Thomas Jefferson's Liberty First Spouse $10 Dollars Gold Coin 
President of the United States, 1801–1809

The obverse of the coin bears the image of Liberty originally used on the Draped Bust Half Cent, produced between 1800 and 1808. The obverse inscriptions include “Liberty”, “In God We Trust – 2007″, “3rd Presidency”, the dates of the Presidential term “1801-1809″, and the mint mark “W”. The obverse was originally designed by Robert Scot and re-sculpted by Phebe Hemphill.

The reverse features an image of Thomas Jefferson’s monument. This is the final resting place of the 3rd President, which is located on the grounds of his estate in Monticello. The inscription from the monument is reproduced on the coin: “Here was buried Thomas Jefferson, author of the Declaration of Independence, of the statute of Virginia for religious freedom and the father of the University of Virginia. Born April 2, 1743, O.S. Died July 4, 1826.”

Additional reverse inscriptions include “United States of America”, “E Pluribus Unum”, the denomination “$10″, and the weight and purity of the gold content “1/2 oz. .9999 Fine Gold”. The reverse was designed and sculpted by Charles Vickers.

  The Thomas Jefferson’s Liberty First Spouse Gold Coin was the third release of the series created to honor the President’s spouses. Since Jefferson was not married while in office, the coin features an image of Liberty from a coin issued during the Presidential term. The Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 contains a provision to provide continuity of the First Spouse Gold Coin Program during those times in which a President served without a First Spouse.  This provision applies to Thomas Jefferson, whose wife Martha died in 1782.  Married in 1772, Thomas Jefferson was a widower for 19 years when he became President in 1801.
  The gold coins issued to accompany any President who served without a spouse will each feature a design emblematic of Liberty on its obverse, as depicted on a United States coin originally issued during the President’s time in office.  For Thomas Jefferson’s presidency, the selected image appeared on the Draped Bust Half-Cent coin from 1800–1808, and was originally executed by United States Mint Chief Engraver Robert Scot.

  Following the one-day sell out of the first two releases of the series, the United States Mint lowered household ordering limits from five per option per household, to just one per option per household. Despite the reduced limit, the Jefferson’s Liberty Gold Coins still achieved a first day sell out.
  The 2007 Thomas Jefferson’s Liberty First Spouse Coins were produced in proof and uncirculated qualities. Upon initial availability from the US Mint, the proof version was priced at $429.95 and the uncirculated version was priced at $410.95.
  The coins had a mintage of 40,000 coins, for which orders were received on the first day of sales. Final mintage figures ultimately indicated 19,823 uncirculated and 19,815 proof coins. After the excitement about the new series began to fade, thousand of Jefferson’s Liberty Gold Coins were reported melted. The precise impact of the melting on the surviving mintage is unknown.

Coin Specifications and Mintage
Date: 2007
Mint: West Point (W)
Mintage: 19,815 (proof), 19,823 (uncirculated)
Designers: Robert Scot (obverse), Charles Vickers (reverse)
Composition: 0.9999 Gold
Weight: 0.5000 troy oz. (15.554 g)
Diameter: 1.041 inches (26.49 mm)
Thickness: 0.074 inches (1.88 mm)

US Gold Coins
First Spouse Gold Coins Program

2007 First Spouse Gold Coins

Martha Washington    Abigail Adams    Thomas Jefferson’s Liberty    Dolley Madison

2008 First Spouse Gold Coins

2009 First Spouse Gold Coins

Anna Harrison       Letitia Tyler       Julia Tyler       Sarah Polk       Margaret Taylor

2010 First Spouse Gold Coins

2011 First Spouse Gold Coins

Eliza Johnson         Julia Grant         Lucy Hayes         Lucretia Garfield

2012 First Spouse Gold Coins

2013 First Spouse Gold Coins

2014 First Spouse Gold Coins

Eleanor Roosevelt         Lou Hoover         Grace Coolidge         Florence Harding

2015 First Spouse Gold Coins